Association of commerial judges

Welcome!

Thank you for taking an interest in our association and in the role of honorary commercial judges.

Commercial judges are part of a long tradition that goes back several centuries. They perform a vital function in the judicial system and legal practice. Their story began in 1508, when the first German commercial court was established in Nuremberg. Ever since, commercial judges have been committed to absolute neutrality. Their expertise contributes greatly to confidence in the administration of justice.

Our association was founded during the Weimar Republic and re-established in Berlin in 1951. It has over 120 members who currently serve or have previously served as commercial judges and hence are part of the commercial divisions of the court system. They consider it a privilege to work in this jurisdiction for businesspeople and hope to recruit more volunteers for the role.

You can join our association by being appointed as a commercial judge by the Senator or Minister for Justice. The association comprises businesspeople from a wide variety of industries who take on responsibility by actively participating as judges in business-related court rulings alongside their professional lives. In so doing, commercial judges apply their personal and professional experience for the public good as part of the third branch of government, voluntarily and without remuneration.

Vereinigung der Handelsrichter

Herzlich willkommen!

Wir freuen uns sehr über Ihr Interesse an unserer Vereinigung und an den ehrenamtlichen Handelsrichtern!

Die Handelsrichter stehen in einer Jahrhunderte alten Tradition und üben eine gefestigte Funktion in Justiz und Rechtsprechung aus. Ihre Geschichte reicht bis in das Jahr 1508 zurück, als das erste deutsche Kaufmannsgericht in Nürnberg eingesetzt wurde. Die Handelsrichter verpflichten sich zu absoluter Neutralität und tragen durch ihren Sachverstand in hohem Maße zum Vertrauen in die Rechtspflege bei.

Unsere Vereinigung wurde in der Weimarer Republik gegründet und 1951 in Berlin wiedergegründet. Die über 120 Mitglieder der Vereinigung waren oder sind Handelsrichter und als solche den Kammern für Handelssachen zugeordnet. Sie empfinden es als Privileg, an dieser eigenen Gerichtsbarkeit für Kaufleute mitwirken zu können und möchten weitere Interessierte gewinnen, die sich für dieses Ehrenamt zur Verfügung stellen.

Mit der Ernennung zum Handelsrichter durch den Senator oder Minister für Justiz können Sie in unsere Vereinigung aufgenommen werden. Im Kreise unserer Vereinigung finden sich Geschäftsleute unterschiedlichster Branchen zusammen, die neben ihrer Berufstätigkeit laufend an der Rechtsprechung in Wirtschaftssachen als Richter aktiv mitwirken und Verantwortung übernehmen. Die Handelsrichter bringen dabei ihre Lebens- und Berufserfahrung zugunsten der Allgemeinheit als Teil der dritten Gewalt freiwillig und ohne Gegenleistung ein.